Journey To The Past: Beypazari
In the 17th century the Ottoman
traveller Evliya Çelebi wrote that Beypazarı lays in two valleys and
consisted of 3011 two-storey houses with timber covered adobe
walls. He said that the town had 70 schools, seven hans
and hamams and 600 shops, and a weekly market where
all kinds of fine and valuable commodities were sold. In 1884 a
fire destroyed thousand of houses in the town, which were rebuilt by
craftsmen from Beypazarı and Safranbolu in the late 19th century.
Today with its over 3000 houses and two-centuries old buildings in
the town centre, Beypazarı is one of the unspoilt Otoman towns in
Turkey. The old quarter is under conservation, and the exteriors of
500 of these picturesque houses have already been restored.
Works on the others is continuing.
which means the country on the peak
of the rocks was used in the first ages. After Roman Empire
Anastasios's visit it changed into Lagania-Anastasiopolis
The present name Beypazari has been used since Seljuqi Empire.
means marketplace of lords, because it is a city on
the Silk Road.
680 meters, Population: 34.441 (2000) Income average is twice bigger
than Turkey's average.
Hittites, Phyrigians, Galatians, Romans, Byzantine, Seljuqi
and Ottomans. An episcopacy center
in Roman Times, A
in Ottoman times...
Way They Earn:
Beypazari provides the carrot need of Turkey
at %60 percentage. Agriculture is the way they earn firstly.
Beypazari Mineral Water Company, Coachwork Industry and Cayirhan
electricity central are the other main elements which support
economy in Beypazari.
It is only 100 kilometres to Ankara which is capital of Turkey. The
weather is a few degrees warmer than Ankara.
people visited Beypazarliyiz.com!